Day 2: PIMM’S Cupcakes w/ Lemon Buttercream


After having major sugar hangover from yesterday and trying to figure out what the hell I’m going to do with all of these cupcakes, I’ve decided to only make 6 cupcakes per batch if I can help it.  All of you requesting cupcakes will probably get more…if you’re lucky.  This morning I was also like, wtf did I get myself into, am I really going to make 30 different kinds of cupcakes?  Yes, this was after day 1.  But I’ve powered through and made it to day 2.  Yes, I keep forgetting to put the ingredients for the frosting in the pictures, maybe tomorrow I’ll remember.  Whatever, I was drunk on Pimm’s.

Keith and I rediscovered Pimm’s this year on our trip to palm spings.  we sat at our overpriced hotel drinking overpriced pimm’s cups garnished with an entire salad.  If you don’t know much about Pimm’s, its a british liqueur made up mainly of grain alcohol, cardamom and some other spices that make it good.  And a pimm’s cup is pimm’s, some lemonade & ginger ale, and garnished with cucumbers & mint.  I think I stayed pretty true to this with the exception of the cucumber.  Didn’t think hot mushy cucumber would taste too good.

Pimm’s Cupcakes

Makes 6

Preheat oven to 350

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup veggie oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup milk ( or almond milk, whatever)
  • 1/4 cup Pimm’s

Mix together flour, baking powder and salt

In large bowl or mixer, whisk together sugar, oil and egg until smooth.  Add lemon zest.

Slowly beat in flour mixture, milk and Pimm’s until smooth

Divide into cups, I filled them about 3/4 of the way. Bake for 20-25 min.

Seriously just let them cool.  I try to get around it because I’m hungry and then end up with a buttery mess of frosting.

Lemon Buttercream Frosting

I kind of eyeballed this one, so just add a little until it tastes good.

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 2-3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1-2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1-2 tsp lemon juice
  • pinch of salt
  • Pimm’s to taste
  • mint leaves for garnish

Using electric mixer, beat together butter, sugar and salt until it starts to get fluffy/creamy.  Then slowly add in the liquids and lemon zest. If it starts to get runny, just add more sugar.  Frost and garnish with a mint leaf.

I left out part of this recipe since it was 9 am when I did this, but you can also pour more Pimm’s over the cupcakes before frosting for your alcoholic friends.

