Sweet Avocado Lime Cupcakes


The Avocado isn’t normally thought of as a must have dessert flavor.  Growing up in Texas, my only experience with this green thing was in salty, spicy guacamole.  I was ok with that being my only Avocado experience until about 6 or 7 years ago when my friend Katie introduced me to Chinatown Avocado smoothies (I highly recommend trying).  I was blown away by how just adding some sugar to an Avocado brings out a completely different flavor and texture as well as a color you can get from nothing else.  I wouldn’t hesitate to try adding some Avocado into a few more things based on how this experiment turned out.

This is a slightly healthier cupcake than most others as I have basically just replaced the butter with mashed avocado.  The cupcakes seemed fluffier but at the same time a little more firm than most recipes I’ve made before. I’m thinking the avocado was able to hold up a little better than butter would. They were pretty perfect, but maybe that’s just because I got lucky.

The fresh lime frosting brightens up an otherwise subtle flavor and adds a little bit of extra green on the tops.

Avocado Cupcakes

Makes 12

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tablebspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup mashed avocado (about 1)
  • 1 tablespoon butter unsalted
  • 1 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cups buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350°F (175°C).

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

Fitted with a paddle attachment or beaters. Beat Avocado and Butter for 3 minutes on MEDIUM-HIGH speed until smooth and creamy. Stop and scrape the bowl.

Add the sugar, 1/4 cup at a time, beating 1 minute after each addition. Scrape the sides of the bowl occasionally. Add the eggs one at a time.

Reduce the mixer speed. Stir vanilla into the buttermilk. Add the dry ingredients alternately with the buttermilk. Mix just until incorporated.

Divide into cups.

Lime Frosting

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 tablespoon lime zest
  • 1-2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2-4 cups powdered sugar
  • pinch of salt

Beat the butter until light and fluffy, begin to add in the powdered sugar and salt.

Add in the lime zest and juice until desired consistency and flavor is achieved.

Enjoy.

